Killer Week Wrecks Writing

I have had a half-dead week following a killer week (make that two weeks). Actually, the half-dead entity was me.  I way overdid it. Burnt myself out. Buried myself in activity–classes and meetings, kids, grandkids, picnics, cooked way too much food, probably ate too much food, running hither and yon.  The runup to the Highland Games we attended last weekend took more energy than I realized. I seldom got more than 5 hours of sleep and not even that on the two nights preceding our stint at the Games. I used to be able to pull 30-36 hour stints without sleep and bounce back in a day. Sadly, I can’t do it anymore.

Clan MacKenzie tent at the 2005 Tacoma Highlan...

The day of the event began with rising at 6:30 a.m. (on 4 hours of poor sleep). The event itself ended at 6 p.m. We packed up all our stuff and drove off to find a suitable place for dinner. Said meal being consumed we crawled slowly back into the van and proceded back toward home, a three hour drive. It was after 11 p.m. when I finally was able to drag myself into the house with an armload of stuff. Our stable of Shih Tzus were over-the-moon happy that we were home. Let’s see — a 16½ hour day and 4 hours of sleep: about 1 hour of sleep per 4 hours of activity.

I usually write up my blog post contribution during the wee hours between Sunday and Monday. Hard to do when you’ve fallen asleep on the couch. I slept most of the day Sunday and then more than half the day on Monday. My body was exhausted and my mind was useless. I was only beginning to function on Thursday. Friday was better. I realized I hadn’t been drinking enough water (hard to do when you’re sleeping) and was dehydrated. This grandmother is getting old. I hate to admit it but I don’t recover from these activity marathons like I used to.

I wanted to tell you about what we do in our Scottish clan tent/booth last Monday. I didn’t get it done. I wanted to include photos but I forgot the camera.  I have spent the past two days looking for pictures I had taken in previous years and getting them onto the computer. I thought I would write and post a report on Friday. I didn’t have the heart.  It’s hard to report enthusiastically on something you’ve done when you went into it too tired to enjoy it. Hence you’re getting this spate of whining. My apologies. Hang on — it will get better.

Three things suffered during the week: writing anything, keeping up on reading blogs and my e-mail, and a clean house. The bright notes in the whole ordeal– I got lots of needed sleep,  I managed to get a handwritten chapter of my book typed into my laptop between visitors to our clan tent, and it was confirmed to me once again that I have a wonderful amazing husband who picked up the slack for me around the house. He even went out and did the backbreaking job of picking the fruit from our overloaded currant bushes and juiced them so we can make currant jelly.

So, dear blog readers, I owe you a report on what it is to be a Scottish clan representative in a clan tent at a Highland Games/Festival event–with pictures. I am committed to writing and to this blog. I’ll be working on generating the enthusiasm needed to get it done.

Do you have marathon weeks that consume both your writing time and all your energy? How do overcome them?

 

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Killer Week Wrecks Writing

  1. books494 says:

    looking forward to the pics!

    • torimcrae says:

      Eleanor, I’m still holding a composition book and pen for you from the writing contest. Do you want them? Ifyou do please send me your snail-mail address & I’ll get them out to you. Tori

      >________________________________

    • torimcrae says:

      Hi Eleanor. I’m really regreting not taking time to scan pictures into my desktop computer. Most of my Highland games photos were taken before I had a digital camera. I need to look into how much it would cost to have them transferred to a DVD. I don’t have time anymore to tackle that kind of project. Another job for a secretary I think. Tori

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

