Need to write. No pen. No paper.

We took our granddaughter home yesterday. It wasn’t a good day, but that’s another story. Her home is two and one-half hours away. That usually stretches to three hours by the time we’ve made the seemingly inescapable stops on our way through town. Since we couldn’t find a dog sitter for our pack of Shih Tzus it was a quick-turnaround trip. Seven small dogs aren’t too bad to travel with but they can be unnerving for some people, including our son-in-law, especially in a small home that houses a toddler, a baby and a hyperactive 6-year old. Our daughter made us dinner and after eating we headed back.

By the time we reached the mountain pass over the Cascades it was dark. A semi-truck hauling a long, flatbed trailer was parked in a chain-up area near the top. It was a strange sight floating in the darkness with bumper lights looking like a wide, red mouth and parking lights appearing as glowing yellow eyes.

The creative juices started to flow. A story began to swirl in my head. Unable to use my laptop the story tumbled out of my mouth with my husband playing the role of the audience. A children’s story probably. A bit of a mystery.  At one point I even created two lines that rhymed. I felt so clever. But I knew the story would never remain in my head for the next 90 minutes. What a quandary. No computer. Too dark for paper and pen. How in the world could I record it before it got lost in the ether that serves as my brain?

The solution? My cell phone. I used the notepad tool to write down my story. I had to “Save” and open a new screen five times to get it all recorded but record it I did! Now it’s just a matter of retyping it into my computer. This was the second time I’ve used my cell phone to record a literary creation.

I don’t have a Smartphone, but I love my little communication device all the same.

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Travel, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

