Granddaughters are coming

The big weekend is here! Shannon is coming, along with her two baby sisters, mom and dad. The travel back and forth always reminds me of the song I sang as a child: “Over the river and through the woods, to Grandmother’s house we go.'” Traveling back and forth between their home and ours requires many miles of travel through forests and mountain passes and over a number of rivers and creeks. It’s beautiful scenery but sometimes hard to enjoy because Shannon can “talk the ears off” anybody.

Oregon’s Cascade Mountains

 It’s going to be a big, busy weekend. We’ll start with a big family dinner Friday evening. The zoo-like atmosphere will begin when our seven Shih Tzus discover we have company and the girls, in turn, discover the dogs.

Our adult Sweetbriar Shih Tzus

On Saturday we go to Shannon’s uncle’s graduation. Our youngest finished his courses for his Massage Therapist license and passed all the tests. Now it’s time to get public recognition for all his hard work and perseverence. I’m excited about it and so proud of this impulsive, ADHD child for seeing it through to completion. I hope seeing him graduate will plant seeds in Shannon for the day she gets to walk across a stage and receive her own diploma.

Sweet Shannon in the garden

Sunday there’s church followed by a big Fathers’ Day barbeque. It’s always a special Sunday when we get to sit in church with any of our kids and grandkids. It doesn’t happen often because our kids are like seeds scattered to the wind. Later in the afternoon we go to the previously mentioned youngest son’s softball game. Win or lose, I always enjoy watching him and his team play.

Monday my daughter, son-in-law and two youngest granddaughters go home and we get Shannon all to ourselves. I look forward to enjoying this part of my inheritance.

“Sons are an inheritance of the Lord, children a reward from Him.” Proverbs 127:3
“Children’s children are a a crown to the aged.”  Proverbs 17:6

Granddaughter Mara in the garden

Needless to say, I expect to be quite busy next week. Granddaughter is an early riser, unlike me, and I may not be able to stay up late (or awake) to post to this blog. If that’s the case I’ll post Sunday night and let you know if I’m taking the week off.  I hope I get time to write at least a few short posts during the week.

I hope the summer season which begins this week has exciting, rewarding times in store for you and brings new ideas and material to write about.

 

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in family and parenting, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Granddaughters are coming

  1. OMG! You just reminded me of my own childhood with that song…Over the river and through the woods, to Grandma’s House we go. I haven’t thought of that in years. Thank you!!

    • torimcrae says:

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. Thank you for your comment. I’m glad you liked the post “Granddaughters are coming”. I checked your blog out. Are you a new blogger or is just starting new blog? Hope you’ll stop by again.
      Tori McRae

  2. Carol says:

    I know the delight of visiting grandchildren — such a joyous time!! And seven Shih Tzu? Your household sounds a little like mine used to, altho’ I never had more than five of my Shetland Sheepdogs at any one time. At the moment we just have one Labrador and the house seems remarkably quiet… until the grandchildren arrive. LOL. Enjoy!

    • torimcrae says:

      Thanks for sharing. After raising four children and the occasional foster child or exchange student the house was deathly quiet after the last one left. Our little pack of Shih Tzus fill the house with activity and a little noise again. (Two of the Shih Tzus are offspring we still need to sell.) They fill in nicely between visits from grandchildren and keep said kids busy after they get here. The week is going to be too short. Hope you enjoy the new post about Shannon.

Leave a Reply

