Quote for Today

I came across the following quote. I’d read it somewhere before and think of it often and now I know who it came from.

First they came for the Communists, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew. Then they came for the Catholics, and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant. Then they came for me, and by that time there was no one left to speak up for me.”
by the Rev. Martin Niemoeller, a German pastor imprisoned in World War II

Have you ever seen someone being treated unfairly or openly mistreated? Did you speak up?

Would you speak up for someone’s freedom of speech even if  what they had to say differed from your strongly held position on the subject?

 Have you ever created a character who had to deal with injustice in some way?

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote for Today

  1. Carol says:

    Good questions! The first one reminds me of an elementary school playground situation I witnessed many years ago. It was the end of a Sports Day afternoon and one team had ‘boo-ed’ another. Two children from the opposing teams began arguing and ended up fighting each other, with a circle of others forming around them to watch. I noticed three teachers walk past the fighting and I was stunned that they seemed oblivious to it. In fact, they had laughed at the earlier ‘boo-ing’, too.

    I stepped in and stopped the fighting — it wasn’t a challenge with ten year olds — and the next day I talked to the Principal who explained his policy that children needed to learn how to resolve their own differences… that if they couldn’t at that age, they wouldn’t be able to later as teens and adults.

    When I think back to that incident I realize it was all about bullying, but at that time nobody recognized or identified it as such. The school administration’s attitude didn’t acknowledge the importance of respect in relationships. And that’s the kind of thing that we see today, magnified in the governing of countries.

    I’ve written one short story that involved bullying. It was published under my pseudonym, Iris Whyte, in the ‘Tide Pool’ e-zine, and can be accessed via my ‘Writing’ page: “Wisdom at Any Age”.

    You probably didn’t expect to get such a long answer to your questions. Sorry about that! 😉

    • torimcrae says:

      Carol, long or short I enjoy all your comments. I was a pretty “on the surface only” type of kid and I think a lot of things escaped me. Either that or I never saw bullying happening. My oldest daughter did, though. She stepped in, sent the bully girls away and befriended the girl who was the victim. Daughter was only 13 or 14 at the time. I’m saving this e-mail so I can find my way to your article to read later. I appreciate you so-o-o much and hope I can meet you some day. Tori

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

