The Backsliding Blogger

I’ve come to the conclusion that making a commitment to blog every weekday (M-F) is akin to making New Year Resolutions — well-intentioned but difficult to carry out. You probably noticed tnat there has not been a blog post since last Wednesday or Thursday. On Thursday and Friday I got up early to start working on decluttering and grubbing out my family room. This 14′ x 20′ room is where hubby and I and our Shih Tzus spend much of our time. Junk and dirt accumulate, especially when I’m in writing mode (which also happens in the family room) and demands to be attended to from time to time.

On Friday night and Saturday afternoon I performed at our local Scottish Highland Festival with Kitchen Ceilidh (‘kay-lee”). We are a group of women who sing traditional folk songs in Scottish Gaelic. We usually dress up in traditional costumes that were common in the highlands of Scotland in the 1500-1600s Sunday was church in the morning and my son’s softball game late in the afternoon. Monday I slept in and recouped my energy.

As soon as I can manage to figure out how to add pictures (hopefully by tomorrow) I am going to post a series of blogs about Scottish Highland Games and Scottish/Celtic Festivals.

By the way, I’ve been informed that videos of Kitchen Ceilidh performing have been posted to You Tube. I haven’t seen them yet due to the megabyte restraints on my internet usage but I’m providing links here so that you can see them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXAQElUU8N4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbgVK2sW12c&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3uq7k5pHNo

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in De-cluttering/Organizing, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Backsliding Blogger

  1. Carol says:

    I don’t know how anyone manages to come up with daily blog posts! Although I know a few agents and published writers who do, the rest of us are usually scrambling just to fit some daily novel writing into our schedules. It sounds like you lead a very full and busy life, so maybe daily blogging isn’t a practical reality for you. When I started blogging four years ago I hoped to post something three or four times a week. For a while it was an erratic thing, but eventually I settled into a specific Mon-Wed-Fri plan, and the regular commitment seems to be helpful. I don’t let myself go to bed the night before until I have a post ready to go up. I know Jody Hedlund went from five weekday posts to just Tues-Thurs ones after she became published. I don’t think frequency is an important as regularity to our readers. They’ll continue to visit if they know when to expect a new post. Maybe you’d find it easier to pick one or two specific days a week???

    Thanks for sharing your Kitchen Ceilidh videos. Very cool!

    • torimcrae says:

      Carol, Thanks for sticking with my blog. At the moment I have 4 days of blog posts written and just have to add the photos, which I figured out how to do. The computer is balking at the moment or the first one would be up now. I may scale back after I finish the Highland Games posts. The blog posts are working as a motivator to write something everyday and helping me build a writing habit. Not a bad thing.
      Glad you liked the Kitchen Ceilidh videos. They’re kind of rough and unpolished — not as well done at a live venue as I suspect they would have been in a studio — but they get the idea across.
      vickie

Leave a Reply

