Writing Groups

I’ve written about my writing group in a previous post. I would like to encourage writers, if at all possible, to join a writing group or start one themselves. (Our group formed when one lady put a classified ad in our local weekly newspaper.)

In the past I’ve written essays and reviews in catalogs but I felt a need to expand on that. I had a desire to try fiction but, being the pragmatic person I am I sensed no spark of imagination in myself. I jumped at the chance to be part of a writing group. I thought being part of a group might stretch my skills and help me develop an imagination.

I’m happy to report that my expectations were realized. Our writing exercises revealed a latent imagination I didn’t know existed. Exposure to other members’ writing genres that I don’t write in and don’t usually read I’ve stretched myself into writing a little science fiction and poetry.

The various members in our group have distinctively different ‘voices’ in their writing. One lady writes beautifully descriptive, lyrical prose. She has inspired me to use more descriptions and search for that perfect phrase in my writing. Our only male writer  opens possibilites with his fanciful tales of fantasy. Another writes science fiction. Another is in the final stages of writing a historical fiction novel and readying it for publication.

Above all, the group is an encouragement to write, write, write for the sheer joy of writing.

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Groups

  1. Carol says:

    I’m glad you’ve found a group that inspires you to expand your writing horizon. We all benefit from support, exposure to other ideas and critiquing of our work. I’ve been enriched by involvement in two writers’ groups, although it took time to find the one that was right for me. A couple of the earliest ones I tried weren’t much more than “the blind leading the blind!”

    • torimcrae says:

      Carol,
      Thanks for your comment on Writing Groups. They have been a big help in pointing out places in my writing that don’t make sense or don’t flow well. I do one-on-one meetings with Christi where we proofread and critique each others work in a more technical way. I think that is important too.
      Tori

  2. Pingback: A Writing Critique Group Proposal « jessicaschaubbooks

  3. Pingback: Writing groups: What can you gain from them? | Kathryn Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

