Life’s Not Fair — but I’ll Persevere

Sometimes it seems life is unfair. Well, okay. Life is unfair a lot of the time. I’ve had a huge project hanging over my head for a long time. It’s one that will take a block of days, uninterrupted, to accomplish. Finally, finally I thought I had that block of time carved out and protected. Wrong. So wrong.

For those of you who read my last post, “We’re Home”, you’ll remember the project — the organization of my ultra-messy, unusable office. My goal was to get started and finish my project by Thanksgiving and then report on it here on my blog. One of you, who read the post, even expect to be able to read of my success by that date. Your patience will be required and I hope you’ll accept this substitute.

Thanksgiving will go by with my goal unmet. I had forgotten about my commitment to participate in the church bazaar last weekend. During the bazaar we sell soup and sandwiches to raise funds for our childrens’ activities and I make the soup. For two days I made vegan chili (4½ gallons) and chicken noodle soup (3 gallons), kept watch over it and served it. I’m not getting any younger and all those hours on my feet take a toll on my energy.

I can still do this, I thought. I can work on my project during the four days between the bazaar and Thanksgiving. Wrong again! I’ve spent the past two days down with a nasty cold, trying to keep it from turning into bronchitis or pneumonia. Now there are only two days left until Thanksgiving. One of them will be devoted to grocery shopping and cooking. The office will not be worked on.

Nevertheless, progress was made. My file cabinet, the key to my organizing, has arrived at the house!

I am determined to persevere. I will have six days after Thanksgiving to work on the office before I travel to my daughter’s home. I’ll be helping her with my two young grandaughters before, during and after the birth of her third child. I can sort and toss or file reams of papers in six days time. I can finally get my office supplies off the top of the bookcase and hutch. I’m actually looking forward to it.

My new goal is to have the office organized by the end of November. You’ll have to check back the first weekend in December to see if I reached my goal.

p.s. By the way. Does anybody out there want to buy a good, used commercial-grade photocopier? It doesn’t belong in my office anymore.

Tori McRae

 

 

About torimcrae

Tori is a good writer aspiring to be a great writer. The mother of four adult kids she is currently pursuing postponed dreams. She enjoys her grandkids, traveling with hubby, spinning fiber, weaving, and raising Shih Tzus. Currently Tori posts to this blog on Mondays and Fridays.
This entry was posted in Life at Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life’s Not Fair — but I’ll Persevere

  1. careann says:

    It’s that miserable ol’ coot, Murphy, and his unpopular laws! There’s probably one that says any well-intentioned plans will be met with obstacles. I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling well, and I sympathize with the Bazaar commitment (our church bazaar was last weekend, too, but I only made chocolates). But you won’t let these things deter you long term. I hope you had a chance to enjoy your Thanksgiving, and I have no doubt you’ll eventually get that office organizing done. I’ll keep checking back. 😉

    (Sorry, I don’t have a use for another photocopier as I already have one.)

    • torimcrae says:

      Today is a week after I came down with a cold and put my organizing project on hold. I’m glad to report that my cold is much better and I have begun organizing. The file cabinet is in the office. I’ve sorted through the bookcase that needed to be moved to accomodate the cabinet and vacuumed out the copious dust and tossed a few things. I’ve started going through the “horizontal files” (i.e. junk piled on all vertical surfaces) and am in the process of filing papers in the cabinet or waste basket. I felt like I’d come through a keyhole backwards today but I took some Advil and started in anyway. Little by little I will get it done! I will persevere! I will accomplish it! Thanks for reading the blog and commenting. I promise I’ll keep posting if you promise to keep replying.
      Tori

Leave a Reply

